Live Well Without Gluten

Many foods contain gluten. Some are obvious to all and some are not. Get familiar with what you need to avoid, and also stay informed about possible sources of cross-contamination.

Primary Sources of Gluten

These ingredients are always a source of gluten and should absolutely be avoided.

Barley Emmer Semolina
Barley Malt Farro Soft Wheat
Beer Graham Flour Spelt
Bread Wheat Kamut Sprouted Wheat
Brewer’s Yeast Malt Tabbouleh
Bulgur Malt Vinegar Triticale
Khorasan Matzoh Wheat Bran
Couscous Orzo Wheat Germ
Durum Wheat Rye
Einkorn Seitan

Hidden Sources of Gluten

These items may contain trace amounts of gluten. You should contact the manufacturer to learn whether or not they are truly gluten free.

Alcohol Hot Dogs Salad Dressing
Artificial Coffee Creamer Ice Cream Seasoned Chips
Artificial Flavor Iced Tea Mixes Seasoning Packets
Baking Soda Imitation Crab Shampoo
Barbecue Sauce Instant Coffee Soap
Broth or Bouillon Ketchup Sour Cream
Candy Licorice Soy Sauce
Canned Tuna Fish Lunch Meat Sunscreen
Canned Soup Lotion Sports Drinks
Caramel Color Makeup Teriyaki
Chewing Gum Maltodextrin Tomato Sauces
Chocolate Miso Vegan Meat Substitutes
Communion Wafers Modified Starch Vegetable Cooking Sprays
Conditioner MSG Vegetable Protein
Cough Drops Natural Flavor Vitamins
Dextrin Oyster Sauce Wheat-Free Cereal
Dietary Supplements Pharmaceutical Drugs Whey Protein
Fish Sauce Pre-Grated Cheeses Yogurt
Ground Spices Roquefort and Blue Cheese

Wheat Free Does Not Always Mean Gluten Free

Naturally gluten free grains can be contaminated in transportation and processing. For example, corn is harvested right after wheat and often transported in the same equipment. A tortilla chip that is not certified gluten free could be a source of cross-contamination. Buy foods containing gluten free grains, flours and starches that are certified gluten free. The manufacturers of these products take extra steps and perform testing to ensure their products are not cross-contaminated.

Be Mindful of Cross-Contamination

  • If your kitchen is not completely gluten free or you are dining at a friend’s or relative’s home, you should be aware of contamination from shared use of toasters, colanders, baking stones, sifters, oven mitts, wooden cutting boards and wooden utensils. Washing with soap and water can eliminate gluten from pots, pans, plates, utensils, aprons and kitchen towels.
  • When shopping, stay away from processed foods with long lists of ingredients and look for the Certified Gluten Free logo. Avoid buying foods from bulk bins, salad bars and deli cases unless the retail store has strict sanitary practices.
  • Many restaurants are now serving gluten free foods. Nevertheless, always ask about their ingredients and food preparation before dining.

Now, What Can You Eat?

Gluten Free Grains, Flour, Starches & Gums for Baking

Remember, these ingredients are naturally gluten free, but if not grown, harvested, processed and packed to be gluten free, they may contain traces of gluten.

Agar Corn Starch Potato Starch
Amaranth Flax Psyllium Husk
Arabic Gum Guar Gum Quinoa
Arrowroot Hominy Rice
Baker’s Yeast Locust Gum Sorghum
Bean Flours Masa Soy
Beans Millet Tapioca Flour
Buckwheat Nut Flours Tapioca Starch
Chia Nuts Teff
Chickpea Oats Wild Rice
Corn Flour Polenta Xanthum Gum
Corn Meal Potato Flour

Remember, celiac disease is a digestive disorder, so it is essential to eat foods that are wholesome and simple. You should enjoy an abundance of fruits, vegetables, whole gluten free grains, nuts, seeds, dairy products, meats, fish, healthy oils and fats. Eating foods rich in probiotics, like kefir, yogurt and fermented foods can help you rebuild a strong digestive system.